Jake’s Mint Chew Reviews

Reviews of the various products and flavors from smokeless alternative manufacturer Jake’s Mint Chew.

Jake's Summer Flavors - 2022

KillTheCan.org Member Reviews

RatedRKO16 says…

It’s drier than the other herbal chews out there. I’m comparing it to Smokey Mountain since most have tried that. Doesn’t have the cayenne pepper or guarana, still has a little tingle in the lip though. No need to pack, its very easy to get a pinch. NO MESS AT ALL which is a big plus as the others are sticky.

The feeling in the lip is perfect, doesn’t fall apart (I’m on 30 min. right now with the same dip, stays together better than the real thing). There is only a *hint* of wintergreen flavor which is the biggest downfall. Smokey Mountain has it beat on taste but it still doesn’t have a *bad* taste either. It’s just not as good as Smokey Mountain in this 1 area.

For me, this is a 9/10. Only thing that would make it a 10 would be taking Smokey Mountain’s flavor.

Wintergreen – slight taste of wintergreen, can taste mint after a little while.
Cherry – can taste slight bit of cherry but like most fruity gums, it runs out of flavor FAST then it has no taste. Don’t recommend this one.
Cinnamon – this is for the people that love the burn/tingle feel!! It tastes like a stick of big red but not quite as strong… the burn is the same but feels like tobacco. I also like it because it doesn’t make me want the real thing at all. One person said they couldn’t chew this because it was too close to the same well, I dont recall a cinnamon chew so this would be one I’d recommend…for everyone.

I have “Licorice”, “Mint Straight”, and “Spearmint” to try as well. I’ll give flavor reviews for them after I try them.

jimmykeeper says…

Tried the Jake’s Cherry Chew and as a former Skoal Cherry user, I must say this stuff was pretty good.

I am still not a huge fan of the consistency of the Jake’s cut, as it is very bulkie and doesn’t pack as nicely as Hooch or SMC, but flavor wise the cherry tasted pretty good and Chewie’s “Wild Cherry” Lifesavers analogy from his review is accurate.

I still give the edge to Hooch Cherry over Jake’s Cherry (SMC makes a cherry as well but it is ridiculously sweet and not great), only because Hooch packs much better.

However, if curious, especially if you are a former fruity/cherry flavor dipper, then this stuff is worth checking out.

Related Info

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

24 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Phil Drumm
Phil Drumm
6 years ago

Jakes Mint Chew has a nice consistency, packs like tobacco and all which is nice. However, I could not get past a pretty strong “chemical” like taste that was in each of the four different flavors that I tried. (Spearmint, Kola, Licorice, Apple-Spice). I’m not sure how else to describe the taste, maybe someone else has a similar opinion or is it just me?

Anand
Anand
6 years ago

We needs this product in India the world largest consumer market. Really it is the best alternative ever since if so available in India. No best alternative available in India.

Hunter
Hunter
6 years ago

Dipped Kodiak Wintergreen for 15yrs. I had to put my foot down and new that there was a healthy alternative. I ordered 12 cans of Jakes Mint Chew wintergreen and absolutely love it. I wish that the wintergreen flavor was stronger but thats my only complaint. Other than that, great product ! I back Jakes all day !

Mbraz
Mbraz
6 years ago

Just wanted to mention that all of their flavors are also sodium free which is a very big deal for some people like me. That’s another huge reason to try Jake’s.

JAYP
JAYP
7 years ago

I’ve finally tries all of them. I would have to say that I am a fan of the Mint based fake chews. There are a few of them out there. Out of the 10 flavors I tried, I would say that Cranberry was probably the best one. It’s not real messy either like the others. Quite a bit drier than the other fake brands too. But, to be fair, it did seem that after a little while in the lip, the juice started flowing. So..it wasn’t that bad.
Overall, to me, that’s tried about all of them out here on the site…I’d give it a C+
It is MUCH better than say the Mint Snuff, but not a moist or flavorful as some of the other Mint based fake chews. I probably wouldn’t buy it again unless my choices were it and the Oregon Mint Snuff.
-JP

Kenneth Lester Jr
Kenneth Lester Jr
6 years ago
Reply to  JAYP

I just tried Jake’s mint chew and was pleasantly please!

2Pans
2Pans
7 years ago

My order of Jake’s Mint Chew (licorice flavored) arrived today and I’m so happy I ordered 10 cans. When I first tried it (earlier today), I thought it was just okay. The reason why I didn’t think it was great was because I wasn’t chewing it! I’ve never used chewing tobacco (like Red Man) before, mostly just dip and snus. I even had to look up online how to use it! So you grind it with your teeth a bit before using it like dip. After trying that with Jake’s Mint Chew, I’m a big fan. My reason for choosing licorice was because I once ordered some Swedish snus that was licorice flavored and loved it. I am so please with this quality product. Highly Recommended!

Robert Laney
Robert Laney
7 years ago

I started dipping at 16, quit, and then had been an on again/off again user of Skoal Long Cut for 25 years. Now, I’m 42. I switched from long cut to pouches about 4 years ago, but Skoal is still poison.

I heard the adds for Jake’s over the WFAN airwaves in New York, thought about it but never ordered. Then, two months ago I saw it for the first time at a gas station in CT. Tried it and have since ordered 4 cases. I takes some getting used. The first 10 days were a B!T@H but I got through it.

What I like about it is that it doesn’t create globs of saliva.There’s no need to spit. I wouldn’t say it’s completely dry but I no longer have to spit every two minutes. I think it also limits tooth staining if packed correctly.

What I don’t like about it is that it’s messy. It’s even messier to remove. You can’t just spit it out, but need to spit, rinse, and then rinse and gargle again & again.

ATTN Jakes…I think a pouches version would work GREAT!

I’ve made my share of mistakes, but if I can avoid CANCER at age 43+ I am all for Jakes and they now have a customer for life

DingPin
DingPin
7 years ago
Reply to  Robert Laney

Ive been chewing grizz, skoal and bobby for about 4 years now. Ive been wanting to quit for a while so i just bought jakes mint chew. Honestly i hate it, its dry and theres no flavour. Also its a huge mess to pack it and even worse when you take it out. Its like fine cut!! But i gotta quit so try jakes, its shit but it will help you quit.

Josh
Josh
7 years ago

Any suggestions on a replacement for Stokers long cut mint? Good, moist chew with a flavor that lasts for hours.

Samuel W
Samuel W
7 years ago

Just ordered a package last night and got priority shipping, im from VA, how long will it take

Tony R
Tony R
7 years ago

I need to get my tracking code, cant seem to find it…Need help!

Tony R
Tony R
7 years ago
Reply to  Chewie

The code you can use to find out where you box is during the delivery process

kylemickeymckenna
7 years ago

Here’s my testimony on using Jakes, and quitting dip after seven-plus years as a user. http://littlething5.com/2014/11/05/steps-to-quitting-jakes-mint-chew/

andrew
andrew
7 years ago

Hey chewie how can I get some samples of these and others on the site I’ve tried sec but with no bite all I want is a dip

andrew
andrew
7 years ago
Reply to  andrew

*smc

Brandon McComas
Brandon McComas
8 years ago

I ordered it how long does it take to get?

Tom
Tom
8 years ago

Just got a sample pack, NASTY is all I have to say. You can’t flavor mint and make it taste like anything but mint. Save your money

crowleye72
crowleye72
8 years ago

I got my mine and love it. I got wintergreen chewed Copenhagen wintergreen longcut for years Stuffs not bad at all it has kept me contempt for 30 hrs.

Back to top button
24
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x